Hariprasad’s Weblog

Tamasoma Jyotirgamaya – May HE lead us from ignorance to knowledge

You can achieve while still being old at heart

with 4 comments

Sagarika Ghose has come up with another gem of a piece, this time on the conservative nature of Indian youth and thereby their non-achievement in society. This post will not attempt a complete dissection of that post. Read this excellent rip-apart by Sandeep for the same.

I found one particular line in that article extremely offending, dumb and carelessly crafted.

In spite of their own attachment to family, India’s youth has chosen the self-made Sachin Tendulkar and APJ Abdul Kalam over scions born into privileged ‘royal’ families”

The above line seems to highlight a contradiction in the choice of the Indian Youth in selecting SRT and APJ. It seems to suggest Sachin Tendulkar, APJ Abdul Kalam & family attachment are not things that go together. I reproduce here below parts of what SRT & APJ have spoken/written about their parents.

Sachin on his father. (link here)

“My father, who died in 1999, was never a cricket fan, not at all. He was a writer and a poet: he taught Marathi, my mother tongue, at the local university. But he understood exactly how to get the best out of me. He always encouraged me and told my mother that he had full faith in me. It was probably reverse psychology, but as I got older I felt like I could not misuse that trust. He warned me against taking short cuts and told me to just keep playing, despite the ups and downs. My parents taught me that it is important to live every day of your life with grace and honour.When it came to choosing between cricket and going to university, he said: “You can play cricket, I know that is your first love, so go for it.”

APJ on his mother (link here)

Mother

“I still remember the day when I was ten,

Sleeping on your lap to the envy of my elder brothers and sisters.
It was full moon night, my world only you knew Mother!, My Mother!
When at midnight, I woke with tears falling on my knee

You knew the pain of your child, My Mother.
Your caring hands, tenderly removing the pain
Your love, your care, your faith gave me strength,
To face the world without fear and with His strength.
We will meet again on the great Judgment Day. My Mother!

A strong attachment to the family is the only conclusion I can draw from the two readings.

Sagarika Ghose condemns family attachment, claims (on the basis of a survey) that its not fun to be young in India and that the current generation is “shockingly conventional” because they are “disinclined to opt for rebellion”.

If this is the kind of perverted intellect is what one develops by rebelling, then I am grateful (to my parents) that they groomed me as a dull, conventional, conservative, right-wing, risk averse, nationalist individual.

Written by Hariprasad

February 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Posted in General, Politics

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am shocked more people are not criticizing this piece by sagarika.. it is quite open in its contempt for indian values, for people who love and respect their parents, for any viewpoints opposed to sagarika’s own, and a life of stability. is there actually something so reprehensible about some young man from a middle class family being interested in building a better life for himself and his children by working hard? i can understand if she had said that “although indian youth touch their parents’ feet, they go around mowing down pedestrians with their mercedes cars – they should stop it”. instead, the pedestrian-killing becomes a side issue for her, she is more concerned with the fact that indian youth have not developed the anti-parent apathy that is so characteristic of American children. she sings the praises of individualism, and then contradicts herself saying that individualism is good only because it makes for a better society.

    Rankie

    February 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm

  2. Dear Hari sir,

    may i have your email address please, i would like to ocntactyou. my email address is amith.kh@gmail.com

    dhanyavad
    Amit

    amithaha

    February 15, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  3. Dear Hari sir,

    may i have your email address please, i would like tocontact you. my email address is amith.kh@gmail.com

    sorry for writing here , but i could not find any information on how to get in contact with you anywhere in your pages.

    dhanyavad
    Amit

    amithaha

    February 15, 2011 at 3:10 pm
    Reply

    amithaha

    February 15, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  4. Very interesting. Many young people will perhaps hold views similar to Ms Ghosh’s.
    The worth of the family one realises as one matures. Sachin is beyond his rears. Such mature thoughts! Any surprise that he is so loved by everyone.
    He is the true icon and all young people should learn something from him and how he conducts himself.

    NK

    February 20, 2011 at 5:41 pm


Leave a Reply

