Hariprasad’s Weblog

Tamasoma Jyotirgamaya – May HE lead us from ignorance to knowledge

My daily Earth Hours

with 4 comments

WWF is going to celebrate Earth Hour on March 27 at 8:30PM.  People who participate in this need to switch off their lights for one hour.

I am not going to participate in this event.

First of all, it looks more of a media thing.

Secondly, I celebrate at least 2 Earth Hours everyday, at least for 6 months a year. I am so much better off – many villagers in India celebrate at least half a dozen Earth Hours every single day.

Lastly, I am not even sure if my power company will let me have the privilege of switching off lights at 8:30PM on March 27, just in case I decide to participate. Toggling the switches in a dark room ain’t going to give me a sense of participation!

Written by Hariprasad

March 11, 2010 at 10:38 am

Posted in General

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a hogwash.

    Only gives people an easy way to gain satisfaction for having been involved in a noble cause as saving the planet.

    The people who participate in this are most likely going to talk about it on facebook and twitter. What’s the point of turning off the lights, sitting in silence and not telling anyone about it ?!

    Hence most people are going to participate in this drive so that they can boast about it rather than their real concern for the problem. If it was latter, they would have invested the one hour in finding out where are they wasting electricity.

    ego

    March 11, 2010 at 1:53 pm

  2. Also I believe that by consuming less than 300rs/month worth of power, I am already contributing many earth hours a month as against people whose power bills runs into a few thousands!

    Bharata

    March 12, 2010 at 10:08 am

    • I am essentially saying that it shouldn’t be a 1-day show, one needs to be consistent and reduce the usage on a daily basis also.

      Bharata

      March 12, 2010 at 10:12 am

      • I agree. 1 hour a year cannot even be called “Alilu Seve”🙂

        Hariprasad

        March 12, 2010 at 10:14 am


Leave a Reply

