Hariprasad’s Weblog

Tamasoma Jyotirgamaya – May HE lead us from ignorance to knowledge

More media bashing

with 7 comments

I am just not able to get over my media bashing🙂 A few days ago, I wrote about my decision to switch newspapers. The newspaper boy told me that I am ‘allowed’ to switch only at the end of the month. So I continue to get TOI even today. Hopefully a new beginning next year onwards.

I spend about 60 seconds every day glancing their “Bangalore Times” set. Since many days now, they have been running campaigns on the ‘attrocities’ being committed upon Bangalore’s ‘citizens’ by not letting them party beyond some deadline, even on New Year’s Eve. It is disgusting to see the paper treat the issue almost as an infringement of the most basic rights of people.

Today’s edition (December 23, 2008) was the real low point. There were three main articles on the first page.

  1. One had to do with the ban on smoking in public places. The article references unsourced surveys and says that in the UK and France, passive smoking has increased after similar bans as people smoke more indoors – hinting that the ban on smoking is probably a bad idea. 
  2. The second article was about a starlet, and in the headline, she declares “I am perfectly ok with being covered from head to toe”! I cannot believe this. We had ‘starlets’ declaring that they were ok with exposing a bit. Now, it is considered ok if starlets agree to cover themselves up🙂
  3. A detailed article on ‘live-in’ relationships, their acceptance (supposedly) in society, the ‘benefits’ of such an arrangement and the hi-fi celebrities who have gone for such ‘arrangements’ upon whom today’s youngsters can look up to.

I don’t know what exactly is the agenda of this sub-section of the newspaper, but promoting any kind of values or principles is not one. Preserving any such values is also clearly not their agenda. Responsible reporting – I cannot see how this comes under that category. 

Our ‘leaders’ create big hungamas in parliament and other houses over some minor mistakes in text book contents arguing that such material can have serious impact on youngsters. I wonder what they think of such cheap content coming daily in one of the leading newspapers of India.

BTW, Ananthu and I have this really long argument (possibly for over 15 years now) about whether TOI is better or IE is better. Ananthu –  you win mate!

Written by Hariprasad

December 23, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Posted in Politics

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate Bangalore Times

    Chinmay Albal

    December 23, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  2. Sure buddy, its never late to ditch ToI.

    Ananth Narayan

    December 23, 2008 at 4:07 pm

  3. About 2o years ago, I heard some one say that the Indians are more British than the Britishers themselves. These days I think we can paraphrase this by subsituting Americans for Britishers. I dont have to go to cnn.com or my local freep.com (Detroit Free Press) to get US news. All I have to do is to read the online edition of Times of India to get all the juicy news on what is happening in America. I just dont understand this fascination the Indian news papers have for USA. There is so much happening in India. Another thing that really upsets me is that they make headlines out of what Condolezza Rice thinks of Pakistan. Dash it guys, it does not matter, it should not matter. India Pakistan relationship (or the lack of it) should not be affected by what America thinks. How low can you get? Tell the public what the Defense Secy (or what ever that position in India is) thinks about the escalating issues with ISI. It does not matter what Obama thinks or what the CIA thinks. India seems to be losing the ability to think independently and act independently. Globalization is only for commerce, not for your own defence of your own motherland.

    Sorry Hari avare, I just could not stop venting after reading your articles. If I have overstepped, please moderate this comment. Thanks and Namaskara.

    Raghu

    December 23, 2008 at 8:26 pm

  4. When i was in bangalore, i used to get TOI. As you said, its full of BS. I switched to deccan chronicle, since its what i read in hyderabad. I guess DC launched this year in bangalore, try that its good

    raj

    December 25, 2008 at 11:03 am

    • Many thanks for that suggestion. I will look at DC.

      Regards, Hari

      Hariprasad

      December 25, 2008 at 3:15 pm

  5. sir
    can i get the accomadation on 29th december morning if there please call back or mail to me
    9448182561

    from
    ranganath

    ranganath

    December 26, 2008 at 9:51 am

  6. TOI is hell bent on getting social sanctions for extramarital ,premarital fracades.I think the staff there is under the impression that only these are issues that impress their readers .
    I found average age horribly inexperienced among thier staff.
    I agree with Shri Raghu on their headlines issue , every state sneeze in USA is a paramount importance for these .
    BUT unfortunately others are no good either.
    Yellow jouranlism ,it seems is here to stay.
    chiraan

    chiraan

    December 26, 2008 at 5:23 pm


Leave a Reply

