Hariprasad’s Weblog

Tamasoma Jyotirgamaya – May HE lead us from ignorance to knowledge

Mudra Photos

with 15 comments

One of the important rituals associated with Vaishnavas is to put on the “marks of Vishnu” on the body everyday. This consists of putting the “Urdhva Pundra” and the “Mudras”. The Urdhva Pundra Dharana (putting on Urdhava Pundra) consists of using the Gopi Chandana and applying the same to 12 parts of the body i.e forehead, lower abdomen (center, left and right), chest, both arms, the neck (center, left and right), lower back and below the neck at the back.

Gopi Chandana

Gopi Chandana

The Gopi Chandana is made of a special soil available near Dwaraka in Gujarat. If Gopi Chandana is unavailable, plain water can also be used but putting on the Urdhva Pundra is compulsory.

Similarly, the 5 mudras have to be applied to the 12 parts mentioned above. The 5 mudras are Shankha, Chakra, Gada, Padma and Narayana.

Shankha Mudra

Shankha Mudra

Chakra Mudra

Chakra Mudra

Gada Mudra

Padma Mudra

Padma Mudra

Gada Mudra

Narayana Mudra

Narayana Mudra

The ritual of putting on Gopi and Mudras is followed especially by Madhvas.

Written by Hariprasad

August 9, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Posted in dvaita, Religion

Tagged with , , , , , ,

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how far i have known and heard of, even the right chest is to be included..

    Arun

    August 30, 2008 at 11:21 am

  2. Dear Arun,

    The 12 I have mentioned are the basic or core ones. Each matha has some small deviations/changes. So some of them do apply on the right side of the chest, some on both.

    Regards, Hari

    Hariprasad

    August 30, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  3. Namaskara,

    I am bit confused. The captions for Gada and Padma mudra are interchanged. Please check once more.

    Haraye Namaha

    Kale Balkrishna

    Kale Balkrishna

    December 5, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    • Indeed! Many thanks.

      Regards, Hari

      Hariprasad

      December 5, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  4. Namaskara Hari Avare,

    Thanks for the correction with regards to Mudra Captions.

    Haraye Namaha

    Kale Balkrishna

    Kale Balkrishna

    December 5, 2008 at 3:47 pm

  5. I think u’ve interchanged narayana and gada mudra….

    Krishnamurthy

    March 24, 2009 at 10:22 pm

  6. Namaste,
    I felt good seeing your blog. I want to know about performing ganahoma…

    Krishnamurthy

    July 12, 2009 at 11:53 am

  7. thank u soo much

    sylio

    July 28, 2009 at 5:23 pm

  8. i need to no the mudras of chakras is there any book or cds related to it. please let me know my email id is ravipujari@rediffmail.com

    Ravindra Pujari

    August 10, 2009 at 11:21 am

  9. i need to know about mudras of chakras. please help me, if there is any book of mudras of chakras or cds. please mail me the details of the same. my email is ravipujari@rediffmail.com

    Ravindra Pujari

    August 10, 2009 at 11:24 am

  10. I want to know how these numbers are derived .. ex: Like applying chakra in 5 numbers in lower abdomen center, two numbers of shankhu in left hand. what is the importance of these numbers.

    I am not questioning, i want to know since we follow these numbers . Knowing and following is better right.

    Bhanu

    April 5, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  11. Hari,

    Thanks for the pictures and naming. Can you also please elaborate where should each one of these be applied. Shoulf chakra & Shankha be on the temples or forehead?

    Should all these 5 be applied at all 12 places? Please clarify .. thanks,

    Shiva

    Madhwa pooja vidhana

    September 11, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    • Hi,

      I have a picture of where each oordhva pundra nama and mudre are to be applied… unfortunately, its on my home laptop… please mail me at vasug1973@gmail.com – I shall send it to you after I return home, this evening… you can then, if you wish, put it up here, for the benefit of others with the same query.

      Take care,
      Vasu.

      Vasudev G

      May 7, 2012 at 6:30 am

  12. I want to know the signs and the method of applying before “Saligramas” during Saligrama pooja.
    I have seen the Achar who visited my house doing this.
    But I am eager to do pooja for Saligrama, present in our house for two generation, knowing thoroughly well about these signs.
    Kindly help me guide.
    Regards
    K.Sripath Rao, ksripath@rediffmail.com
    Chennai

    K.Sripath

    December 5, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  13. Hi, I am not able to get the pics of the mudras. Can you please send them to me please? My email ID is ashbee@gmail.com. Thanks in advance. Regards.

    Ashok Bhat

    December 19, 2012 at 12:21 pm


Leave a comment